361MC: – Editing process for Rat Bastard & Reflection

Without a shot plan for the Bad Mouth Men music video, it offered me a lot more freedom in the editing stage unlike the Little Rag Doll video which had a set narrative and was quite restricting in terms of where I could take the video. With the song now recorded, I could begin the editing process. My point of reference visually for the video was that of 1970s punk rock videos as this is what I thought tonally matched Rat Bastard. The song differed from this genre, however, in terms of its comedic elements and the pace of the song.

As the pace of the song is a lot more frantic and manic than most punk songs I came across, I decided to make the video just the same. I edited the first verse of the video in such a way that it matches the detached and fragmented lyrics of the opening line which really allows for a great visual pairing between the video and the song and really brings the music more to life. In my previous music video of Little Rag Doll, the only transitions I used were cross fades in order to bring out some of the softer moments of the song. As Rat Bastard is a particularly loud and heavy song, no such transitions were used and the only effects that were used (outside of colour correction) were ‘Earthquake’ filters which I added to various moments of the video when the band play a chord which gave those particular shots a lot more power and a real kinetic feel for the viewer.

Screen Shot 2014-05-02 at 20.37.57

Building on from my previous editing process of Little Rag Doll, balancing the screen time for each member of the band was key and was something I felt I was able to achieve to a greater effect this time around, especially considering the video was centred around the band and their antics and mannerisms. Each member seemed to have certain key moments of the song where they had their time to shine and so this is something I wanted to get across in the video which I believe I was able to achieve.

Screen Shot 2014-05-02 at 20.39.24

Although I said that I would continue to use the editing process of first creating an assembly cut, a rough cut and lastly a final-cut, I decided to go straight to the final-cut stage this timedue to there being no narrative footage and it being a collection of different shots of the band. I feel that had I have followed the regular principles of editing in this instance, it would have caused more confusion and made the timeline incredibly convoluted and impossible to work with. Whilst the final-cut was still a challenge to achieve and a slow process, it was much easier than had I have used typical industry practice for this video.

After the video was finished, I sent it to the band and they were immediately happy with it; requiring no changes whatsoever and published it immediately to their Facebook page, which generated some nice praise once again:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Bad-Mouth-Men/361267420588798?fref=ts

Upon reflection, I believe that this video certainly achieved what I set out to do. It of course will never reach the level of professionalism in mainstream music videos due to budget limitations and kit that pales in comparison to industry standard music video equipment, but in terms of an amateur music video for a band I think that the video itself is very good. It showcases the band in a fast, frantic and energetic way, it shows each band member’s quirky personalities as they perform and it also serves as a modern take on what punk videos from the 1970s looked like which is precisely what I set out to emulate.

Screen Shot 2014-05-02 at 20.39.56

 

Leave a Reply

