361MC: – Problems with Borderline schedule and crew & Research for Borderline music video

I had met Borderline back in December and had them on board for a music video for an end of March shoot date. When I had my first discussion with them, they still had yet to learn the song (which was one of the first songs the band had ever written when they had a mostly different lineup many years ago) and record it in a studio. Because the band needed this extra time, I gave them until the end of March to be ready to film with their song Juliet and Borderline would take the place as the third and final music video I would have to film.

Although the schedule for filming all of the music videos was moving along nicely and on time, there was a problem with booking kit out for the dates I required for Borderline’s music video. Although I went to book the equipment out a month before I needed it at the end of February, all kit was booked out for the forseeable future until Friday 25th April. Realising that my deadline would not be far off that date and knowing how long it takes to perfect a music video in the editing process, I was incredibly nervous that I would not have the project finished in time, or at least to a high standard. As this was the only date for kit, I confirmed the booking of the kit and told my team the weekend we would have to film on, with the band only available to film on Sunday 27th April.

Unfortunately this wasn’t the end of my problems. Sarah and Guy, who were my camera operators for the other two music videos would not be able to make this date due to them having to get ready for a trip to Moscow the following day. With limited time left, I turned to my classmates in order to find three other camera operators (as I would be using four cameras for this final shoot) and luckily managed to find three despite it being short notice. (Tom Woods, Sarah Matthews and Ant Gagliano)

Due to kit being fully booked out and the limited time left before the deadline, I knew that any chance to organise any kind of narrative segment for the video as well as a location and an actress to play the character of the title of the song, Juliet, would be impossible and end up incredibly rushed. As such, I decided that the final video I make simply had to be another band focussed video. Borderline had confirmed a venue for us to film the video at, which would be on a stage in a local club but also had access to colourful sound-sensitive lighting equipment as well as a smoke machine. Although the video would have no prominent narrative such as Little Rag Doll, at the news of the new equipment, I took this as a chance to develop and improve upon the skills and principles I used in the Bad Mouth Men shoot. Borderline are also the largest band out of all three bands I’ve had to film which means that I would have to focus on each of them equally and requiring more skill to think of new and interesting shots; both due to the added members and a new instrument, as well as to take advantage of the stage environment and lighting.

Although not of the same genre, my research for this particular video consisted of watching music videos (mostly heavy metal and glam metal) of the 1980s in order to see what kind of shots were common on a stage environment with lighting and smoke machines. This research also would help me see how certain shots may turn out like and what effect the smoke/light combination created visually.

What I noticed most of all from Grim Reaper’s See You In Hell music video is how the light is reflected through the smoke on stage to create various different shades and temperatures of light. As the smoke builds, the colours become very muted due to the smoke being so dense for the light to effectively blend through. When the smoke is given time to settle, the lighting comes to the forefront and can create some very nice shades which give the visuals a big boost and enhance the video greatly.

Lighting has been something that has been somewhat lacking in my previous two videos and has always been a typically 3 light set up. By filming a band on stage with stage-lighting and effects, it will enable me to develop a skill I have often overlooked and test my ability to angle a particular shot that not only shows the band themselves in a visually interesting way, but one that also takes advantage of all of the stage-effects and lighting. I feel that because of the location we have and the equipment on offer to us, Borderline’s music video for Juliet could turn out to be the most professional looking video of the three that I produce.

Unknown. 2013. Grim Reaper – See You In Hell [HD]. Available at: http://youtube.com/watch?v=sJgv-qBBT3Y %5BAccessed: 25 April 2014].

Leave a Reply

